Don’t Be Crabby – baby quilt

Could there be a better name for a range of fabric to make a baby quilt out of? Don’t Be Crabby – by Laurie Wisbrun.

So how did this quilt come about? I have a friend Sue who owns a pub, and Sue has a bartender, the bartender found out she was pregnant and Sue hit me up for a quilt. She was quite fond of this bartender!

Sue asked that the quilt NOT be one of those soft, cutsey little baby quilts. She wanted something cute but not gooey and bright colours… but that was it… so off I toddled to search out the perfect fabric. A few weeks Later I bumped into Sue and she told me there was a little boy on his way to the world. My mind was made up… Don’t be crabby it was!

So… keeping in mind I wanted to show off the amazingly cute fabrics I went for a very basic design…. here you have the “don’t be crabby baby quilt”.

Image

 

Above is the quilt really – I didn’t get many pictures of the process as it all came together so quickly. There are crabs, boats, whales and fish!

I then added a white border to frame the quilt and lift the colours a little.

 

Image

 

How to quilt it was the next big question. I didn’t want to do a simple stitch in the ditch – and wanted the quilting to be dense enough to withstand a lot of washing in the washing machine – but not so much that it made the quilt stiff. I settled on a random swirl all over pattern that I did freehand.

Image

Oh, This is Thomas Applby – he is the quilt room supervisor. You can see he likes Geisha almost as much as Ellie, dressing on this occasion in a beautiful wadding kimono made from offcuts!

NOTE: off cuts are not really his thing – he would prefer to get in and unroll the 30m roll of wadding for his own pleasure – but the humans frown on this practice!

Image

 

Son once the top was quilted I added an aqua binding to the whole thing and called it done!

 

ImageImage

 

In keeping with the bright theme I added an orange back with a strip of super cute crabs!

 

 

Image

Anyway that is it – the little person it was made for has now entered the world to the delight of his parents and Sue. I hope they enjoy using the quilt as much as I enjoyed making it!

Cheers

SB.

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Don’t Be Crabby – baby quilt”

  1. Debi Pointing says :

    That is really eye catching. I love it!

  2. Jenny says :

    Cute quilt. I ave a sewing room supervisor too, she is a 13 yr old jack Russell named Jessie who comes and sleeps on a mat near me. She can’t e bothering with batting.

  3. jenetamasson says :

    Love, love, love the back as much as the front! The quilting is fabulous – love the variagated thread.

  4. Helen says :

    Love the quilt and love geisha abbleby!!

Leave a Reply

Making My Dream Reality

The progress of a Chubby Mummy to a Skinny Minny

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Hunter's Design Studio

Cool patterns + sassy stuff! And the home of We Are $ew Worth It!

Sally Bally Creations

A simple girl living the simple life with a simply wonderful man and a simply delightful boy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

