A Bit About Me

So I thought you may be a little interested in what got me into quilting in the first place, so here it is. 

I was living in Alice Springs with my fella and working at a school there. I was already a knitter and crocheter and became involved in the Alice Springs Beanie Festival. IT was very fun, I made and sold a bunch of beanies but at the end was well over knitting and crochet. 

A friend of mine that I was working with suggested that I try quilting. I assured her that I was not the lease bit interested in taking perfectly good fabric, cutting it up and sewing it back together.. thanks all the same. Then she put her name down to do a one day workshop on making a single block. It was the delectable mountains block… Come on she urged me it will be fun.. something different.. just give it a go.. there was no warning about how addictive it may be or that it might cost me my life savings to continue if I became addicted..

The day before the class she pulled out but I had already paid and thought why not. I went along and the rest is history. Before I left that day I had invested in all the required feet for my machine, cutting mate, rotary cutters etc, etc. I was all set for my big adventure into quitting. 

So here I am today. on the last day of the long weekend wondering which of my projects to work on today… 

ImageThis is one of the Beanie I sold at the ALice Springs Beanie Festival in 2005. It was the 3 little pigs. THe big pig in the middle was the one that went on your head. It sold for $150. I know not quilting but given the historical nature of this post I thought I could get away with it. 😀 

Leave a Reply

mummy flying solo

...murmurs from the depths of my world

Sally Bally Creations

A simple girl living the simple life with a simply wonderful man and a simply delightful boy!

